Just Dope

Just Dope

A Leading Attorney's Personal Journey Inside the War on Drugs

Author: Allison Margolin

Select Format:

Buy from Our Retail Partners

Description

For readers of Dopesick and In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts, a celebrated cannabis attorney’s personal look at the War on Drugs and what comes next for the drug legalization movement

Getting high is something most of us do, and in many cases do safely–yet drugs remain a singular public enemy. In a ranging blend of memoir, pop culture, policy critique, and social analysis, LA-based criminal defense attorney Allison Margolin explores why–and what we can do about it.

Informed by Margolin’s experiences as a drug user, advocate, and the daughter of California’s most renowned (and infamous) cannabis attorney, Just Dope offers a look at where our current drug policy fails. It exposes the true history of drug prohibition in the United States, sharing why it started, how it evolved, and where it stands now. And it looks unflinchingly at the false dichotomy between “good” drugs and “bad” drugs and Margolin’s experience with programs like D.A.R.E that misguidedly ask you to “Just Say No.”

For readers of All Day is a Long Time and In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts, Just Dope is an experiential tour-de-force of personal essay and whip-smart policy critique—and a vital call to knowledge and action.

Additional information

Weight 0.9125 lbs
Dimensions 8.900 × 6.000 × 0.600 in
Format

ebook, audiobook, paperback

Trim Size: 6 x 9
Page Count: 272
Release Date: 2022-08-30
ISBN
Paperback 9781623176860
Audiobook 9781623178376
Ebook 9781623176877

Have Questions?

If you have questions about downloading or accessing digital files, please refer to our Tech Support page.

For general inquiries, please see our Customer Service page.

To request a review copy, please email publicity@northatlanticbooks.com.


North Atlantic Books may earn a commission on any sales generated via third-party referral links.

Back to Top