NABSite_CoverComingSoon

The Mind-Body Guide to the Twelve Steps

Finding Joy, Sensuality, and Pleasure in Recovery--Integrative Spiritual and Som atic Practices for Healing Trauma and Addiction

Author: Nina Pick

Select Format:

Buy from Our Retail Partners

Description

An embodied, trauma-sensitive companion to 12-step recovery: body-based exercises for enhancing recovery, preventing relapse, and understanding the root of your addiction

For readers of In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts and Trauma and the 12 Steps

The Guide to Embodied Recovery shows how to cultivate a recovery process that is more direct, profound, and resilient. This innovative approach to recovery offers a holistic roadmap to holding our bodies and minds with gentleness, love, and respect. 

Somatic and spiritual counselor, educator, and writer Nina Pick shows how addiction is rooted in survival strategies to protect us from overwhelmingly painful experiences. 

Considering addiction through a trauma-informed lens, The Guide to Embodied Recovery offers an accessible, practical guide to 12-Step recovery–one that elevates an embodied, trauma-sensitive approach rooted in healing, relationship, and Earth connection. 

Drawing upon attachment theory, somatic lineages, trauma therapy, Jewish spirituality and other spiritual lineages, as well as Pick’s own long-time journey through recovery, this book moves the 12 Steps practice beyond the traditional cognitive-focused approach. 

With practices that can be applied in partnership with any literature or practices offered by your specific 12-Step program, topics covered include:

  • Identifying feelings of powerlessness and unmanageability
  • Developing Earth practices to cultivate support, surrender, and self-compassion
  • Exploring dance, vocalization, and other creative arts to enhance your recovery
  • Expanding our ideas of higher power and prayer
  • Cultivating daily practices of reflection
  • Understanding the intersections of addiction and intergenerational trauma

Including movement and vocal practices, plant medicine, mindfulness, poetry, touch, ritual, and guided imagery, the reflections and exercises supporting each Step reveal the profound and often untapped potential of the 12-Step path to nurture an embodied, heart-centered form of healing.

Additional information

Weight 0.8125 lbs
Dimensions 0.000 × 0.000 × 0.000 in
Format

ebook, paperback

Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/2
Page Count: 192
Release Date: 2023-09-05
ISBN
Ebook 9781623179410
Paperback 9781623179403

Have Questions?

If you have questions about downloading or accessing digital files, please refer to our Tech Support page.

For general inquiries, please see our Customer Service page.

To request a review copy, please email publicity@northatlanticbooks.com.


North Atlantic Books may earn a commission on any sales generated via third-party referral links.

Back to Top