one long listening

one long listening

a memoir of grief, friendship, and spiritual care

Author: Chenxing Han Read by: TBA

Select Format:

Buy from Our Retail Partners

Description

For readers of The Wild Edge of Sorrow and Crying in H-Mart–a profound and searching memoir of life, loss, grief, and renewal from one of American Buddhism’s most vital new voices.

How do we grieve our losses? How can we care for our spirits? one long listening offers enduring companionship to all who ask these searing, timeless questions.

Immigrant daughter, novice chaplain, bereaved friend: author Chenxing Han (Be the Refuge) takes us on a pilgrimage through the wilds of grief and laughter, pain and impermanence, reconnecting us to both the heartache and inexplicable brightness of being human.

Eddying around three autumns of Han’s life, one long listening journeys from a mountaintop monastery in Taiwan to West Coast oncology wards, from oceanside Ireland to riverfront Phnom Penh. Through letters to a dying friend, bedside chaplaincy visits, and memories of a migratory childhood, Han’s startling, searching memoir cuts a singular portrait of a spiritual caregiver in training.

Just as we touch the depths, bracing for resolution, Han’s swift, multilingual prose sweeps us back to unknowingness: 不知最親切. Not knowing is most intimate. Chinese mothers, hillside graves. A dreamed olive tree, a lost Siberian crane. The music of scripts and silence. These shards–bright, broken, giddy, aching–are mirrors to our own lives in joy and sorrow.

A testament to enduring connection by a fresh and urgent new literary voice, one long listening asks fearlessly into the stories we inhabit, the hopes we relinquish, and what it means simply to be, to and for the ones we love.

Additional information

Weight 0.8125 lbs
Dimensions 0.000 × 0.000 × 0.000 in
Format

ebook, audiobook, paperback

Trim Size: 6 x 9
Page Count: 288
Release Date: 2023-04-11
ISBN
Audiobook 9781623178925
Paperback 9781623177850
Ebook 9781623177867

Have Questions?

If you have questions about downloading or accessing digital files, please refer to our Tech Support page.

For general inquiries, please see our Customer Service page.

To request a review copy, please email publicity@northatlanticbooks.com.


North Atlantic Books may earn a commission on any sales generated via third-party referral links.

Back to Top