Home Is Here

Home Is Here

Practicing Antiracism with the Engaged Eightfold Path

Author: Rev. Liên Shutt

Select Format:

Buy from Our Retail Partners

Description

A guide to living the Engaged Four Noble Truths: antiracist practices for wholeness, healing, and collective liberation.
For readers of Be the Refuge, Love and Rage, and Radical Dharma.

Healing through the Antiracist Eightfold Path builds on foundational Buddhist teachings–the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path–offering an intersectional frame that helps you embody antiracist practices and tend to your own healing under racism and oppression.

Grounded in practice, memoir, and self-help skill-building, Rev. Liên Shutt’s Engaged Four Noble Truths illuminate a path toward healing and liberation. She shares her own experiences with anti-Asian hate–as a teen riding her bike, meditating in whitewashed monasteries–and asks, what does it mean to attend to our suffering in body, heart, and mind when racism can cause such intense hurt and pain?

Written for Asian American Buddhists and other BIPOC practitioners, Healing through the Antiracist Eightfold Path moves us from knowing and contemplation to a place of action. In the doing is the realization, and in practicing antiracism, we build a home for all beings. This is reflected in Rev. Shutt’s choice to frame each step of the Engaged Eightfold Path not as “right” but as “skillful”–to convey both the knowing and the practice essential to living non-harm. In this way: 

  • Skillful conditioning helps us unpack the layers of our racial conditioning within systemic white supremacy
  • Skillful motivation allows us to understand our agency and align our actions with wholeness.
  • Skillful effort guides us when working through difficult or triggering situations
  • Skillful speech helps us communicate wholly truthfully, even (and especially) when navigating challenging conversations.

An engaged reframing of core Buddhist spiritual principles, Healing through the Antiracist Eightfold Path connects foundational practices to urgent causes–and invites readers on a path home to wholeness.

Additional information

Weight 0.8125 lbs
Dimensions 0.000 × 0.000 × 0.000 in
Format

ebook, paperback

Trim Size: 6 x 9
Page Count: 256
Release Date: 2023-08-22
ISBN
Ebook 9781623179052
Paperback 9781623179045

Have Questions?

If you have questions about downloading or accessing digital files, please refer to our Tech Support page.

For general inquiries, please see our Customer Service page.

To request a review copy, please email publicity@northatlanticbooks.com.


North Atlantic Books may earn a commission on any sales generated via third-party referral links.

Back to Top